Patrick Mills
Natural Sciences and Physical Education
Department Chair
Phone: (815) 280-6702
Office: E-1029
Email: pmills@jjc.edu  

Suzanne Roberts
Natural Sciences and Physical Education
Department Secretary
Phone: (815) 280-2420
Fax: (815) 280-6670
Office: E-1043
Email: sroberts@jjc.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty and Staff 

on this page:

Department Chair

  • Astronomy
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Geography
  • Physical Education
  • Physics
  • Support Staff

Department Chair

Patrick Mills, B.Sc., P.G.C.E., Ph.D.
Chemistry Professor
Location: E-1029
Phone: (815) 280-6702
Email: pmills@jjc.edu
Website
Courses: CHEM 100 Fundamentals of Chemistry, CHEM 101 General Chemistry I, CHEM 102 General Chemistry II

Astronomy

Noella D'cruz, B.Tech, M.A., Ph.D.

Professor, Astronomy adn Physics
Location E-1050
Phone: (815) 280-2572
Email: ndcruz@jjc.edu
Courses: ASTR 101 Descriptive Astronomy, PHYS 100 Basic Physics,  PHSCI 125 Life in the Universe

Anitha Akkal B.S., M.S.
Professor, Biology
Location: E-1053
Phone: (815) 280-2731
Email: aakkal@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 125 Human Biology, BIO 250 Human Anatomy & Physiology I, Bio 251 Human Anatomy & Physiology II 

Robert Bellas A.B., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biology
Location: E-1054
Phone: (815) 280-2586
Email: rbellas@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 151 General Biology I, BIO 240 Microbiology

Laurel Carney-Zelko B.S., D.V.M.
Associate Professor, Biology 
Location: E-1049
Phone: (815) 280-2257
Email: lcarney@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 104 Biological Diversity, BIO 125 Human Biology, BIO 160 Anatomy & Physiology (Vet Tech)

Larry Crump B.S., M.A., Ed.D.
Professor, Biology
Location: E-1054
Phone: (815) 280-2369
Email: lcrump@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 105 Microbes & You, BIO 240 Microbiology,
Advisor for Environmental Biology, Pre-professional Health

Cathy Dobbs Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biology
Location: E-1048
Phone: (815) 280-2854
Email: cdobbs@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 104 Biological Diversity, BIO 151 General Biology I, BIO 240 Microbiology, BIO 250 Human Anatomy & Physiology I, and BIO 251 Human Anatomy & Physiology II

John Griffis B.S., M.A.
Professor, Biology
Location: E-1044
Phone: (815) 280-2536
Email: jgriffis@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 104 Biological Diversity, BIO 146 Ecological Conservation, BIO 151 General Biology I,

Cheryl Heeneman B.S., M.S.
Assistant Professor
Location: D-1008
Phone: (815) 280-2837
Email: cheenema@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 104 Biological Diversity, BIO 146 Biological Conservation, BIO 152 General Biology II

Joseph Krieger
Professor, Biology
Location: E-2012
Phone: (815) 280-2708
Email: jkrieger@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 125 Human Biology, BIO 250 Human Anatomy & Physiology I, BIO 251 Human Anatomy & Physiology II

Stephanie Lab B.S., M.S.
Assistant Professor
Location: D-1008
Phone: (815) 280-2838
Email: slab@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 100 Medical Terminology, BIO 250 Human Anatomy & Physiology I, BIO 251 Human Anatomy & Physiology II

Polly Lavery B.S., Ph.D.
Professor, Biology
Location: E-1047
Phone: (815) 280-2274
Email: plavery@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 144 Introduction to Human Heredity, BIO 151 General Biology I

Monica Marquez Nelson B.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Professor, Biology
Location: E-1050
Phone: (815) 280-2373
Email: mnelson@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 106 Animals & Society BIO 151 General Biology I,

Eva Murdoch Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Biology
Location: E-1026
Phone: (815) 280-2589
Email: emurdoch@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 250  Human Anatomy & Physiology I, BIO 251 Human Anatomy & Physiology II

Leonore M. Neary B.S., M.S.
Professor, Biology
Location: E-1049
Phone: (815) 280-6632
Email: lneary@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 151 General Biology I, BIO 152 General Biology II,
Advisor for Biology Majors, Pre-professional Health Careers

Andy Neill A.S., B.S., M.S. 
Professor, Biology
Location: E-1047
Phone: (815) 280-2632
Email: aneill@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 107 Plants & Society, BIO 146 Ecological Conservation,
Bio 151 General Biology I, BIO 152 General Biology II, 
Coordinator of Ecological Restoration Project

S. Louise Smithson Ph. D.
Assistant Professor, Biology
Location: E-1020
Phone: (815) 280-2507
Email: ssmithso@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 151 General Biology, BIO 250 Human Anatomy & Physiology I, Bio 251 Human Anatomy & Physiology II

Back to Top

Chemistry

Don Govoni, B.S., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Chemistry
Location: E-1020
Phone: (815) 280-6954
Email: dgovoni@jjc.edu
Courses: CHEM 100 Fundamentals of Chemistry, CHEM 101 General Chemistry I

Susanne Matthews , B.S. , M.S.
Professor, Chemistry
Location: E-2010
Phone: (815) 280-2363
Email: smatthew@jjc.edu
Courses: CHEM 100 Fundamentals of Chemistry, CHEM 101 General Chemistry I, CHEM 102 General Chemistry II 

Patrick Mills, B.Sc., P.G.C.E., Ph.D.
Department Chair, Chemistry Professor
Location: E-2010
Phone: (815) 280-6702
Email: pmills@jjc.edu
Website
Courses: CHEM 100 Fundamentals of Chemistry, CHEM 101 General Chemistry I, CHEM 102 General Chemistry II 

Marie Wolff , B.S. , Ph.D.
Professor, Chemistry
Location: E-2010
Phone: (815) 280-6701
Email: mwolff@jjc.edu
Courses: CHEM Fundamentals of Chemistry, CHEM 101 General Chemistry I, CHEM 102, General Chemistry II, CHEM 108 Elements of Organic Chemistry, CHEM 209 Organic Chemistry I, CHEM 210 Organic Chemistry II 

Back to Top

Geography

Thomas Feldman, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Geography
Location: E-1053
Phone: (815) 280-2354
Email: tfeldman@jjc.edu
Courses: GEOL 101 Principles of Physical Geology, GEOG 111 Physical Geography Weather and Climate

Jon Laratta, B.S., M.A.
Assistant Professor
Location: E-2011
Phone: (815) 280-2418
Email: jlaratta@jjc.edu
Courses: GEOG 102 World Regional Geography, GOEG 106 Cultural Geography, GEOG 111 Physical Geography-Weather and Climate

Back to Top

Physical Education

Nancy DeRoss, B.S., M.S.
Associate Professor
Location: G-1006
Phone: (815) 280-2379
Courses: BIO 103 Understanding Health, HPR 202 Wellness Concepts, HPR 207 First Aid, KIN 201 Exercise Science, KIN 160 Group Exercise Instruction
Email: ndeross@jjc.edu

David Opon, B.S., M.S.
Associate Professor
Location: G-1006
Phone: (815) 280-2853
Email: dopon@jjc.edu
Courses: BIO 103 Understanding Health, BIO 125 Human Biology, HPR 202 Wellness Concepts, HPR 207 First Aid, HPR 208 Introduction to Athletic Training

Back to Top

Physics

William Hogan, B.S., M.S., Ph.D
Associate Professor, Physics
Location: E-1048
Phone: (815) 280-2213
Email: whogan@jjc.edu
Courses: PHYS 101 General Physics I, PHYS 102 General Physics II, PHYS 103 Technical Physics I, PHYS 104 Technical Physics II, PHYS 201 Engineering Physics I, PHYS 202 Engineering Physics II, PHYS 203 Engineering Physics III 

Max Lee, Ph.D
Professor, Physics
Location: E-1024
Phone: (815) 280-6703
Email: malee@jjc.edu
Courses: PHYS 100 Basic Physics, PHYS 101 General Physics I, PHYS 102 General Physics II, PHYS 201 Engineering Physics I, PHYS 202 Engineering Physics II 

Andrew Morrison, B.S., Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor, Physics
Location: E-1026
Phone: (815) 280-6871
Email: amorrison@jjc.edu
Courses: PHYS 101 General Physics I, PHYS 102 General Physics II,  PHYS 201 Engineering Physics I, ASTR 101 Descriptive Astronomy

Back to Top

Support Staff

Suzanne Roberts, A.A., A.S.
Senior Departmental Secretary
Location: E-1043
Phone: (815) 280-2420
Email: sroberts@jjc.edu

Kimberly Crowe, A.G.S., CNA 
Natural Science Lab Technician, NC
Location: NC-41
Phone: (815) 280-7746
Email: kcrowe@jjc.edu

Christine McKittrick, A.A.S., A.A., A.S.
Secretary
Location: E-1062
Phone: (815) 280-6682
Email: cmckittr@jjc.edu

Virginia Piekarski, B.S. MT (ASCP) 
Biology Laboratory Supervisor
Location: E-1035
Phone: (815) 280-2292
Email: vpiekars@jjc.edu

Geoffrey White, B.S.
Supervisor, Chemistry and Physics Labs
Location: E-2031
Phone: (815) 280-2421
Email: gwhite@jjc.edu

Back to Top

© 2012 Joliet Junior College

Joliet Junior College
1215 Houbolt Road, Joliet, IL 60431-8938
Phone: (815) 729-9020